Free Book Online
Categories
The Crooked House

Pdf

The Crooked House

2.5 (3816)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | The Crooked House.pdf | English
    Christobel Kent(Author)

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller from the author of The Loving Husband follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and abackroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison wassomeone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the topof a remote house on a bleak estuary.A girl whose family, if nothappy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house,in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's beenrunning ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul doesAlison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return toher old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

Asshe seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night,Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it. (SJ Watson, author of BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP)Brilliant...A spooky, gripping and affecting story. (Louise Doughty, author of APPLE TREE YARD in the GUARDIAN)Atmospheric and eerily menacing, this cracking psychological thriller demands to be read with all the lights on. (Psychologies Magazine on The CROOKED HOUSE)Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. (Sunday Mirror)God, I literally could not put this down. Teenage girl hides upstairs assomeone massacres her entire family. Fast forward and she has a newname and a new identity, and a new boyfriend who invites her to a wedding...which is taking place in the town where the massacre occurred.For various reasons, she can't not go. At this point you cancel dinner,curl up on the sofa and pull an all-nighter. Christobel Kent is abrilliant writer. (India Knight on The Crooked House)

4.2 (7678)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 416 pages
  • Christobel Kent(Author)
  • Sphere (23 April 2015)
  • English
  • 10
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery
Read online or download a free book: The Crooked House

Review Text

  • By GeordieReader on 8 November 2016

    I really didn't enjoy this book at all. The characters are one-dimensional, the plot is convoluted and lurches from one melodramatic incident to the next. Anyone who's read much crime fiction will guess who did it. I skipped to the end to confirm that I was right but didn't care enough to find out why.

  • By Sugarpie on 18 June 2017

    Terrible!!! I'm so relieved to read the other reviews that confirm it wasn't just me. I was so confused all the way through with disjointed sentences.. absolutely all over the place. I've now got to near the end (somehow) but can't be bothered to finish it.

  • By GeeBee on 10 March 2017

    Really enjoyed this book

  • By Jan on 29 April 2017

    Interesting story

  • By andrea white on 4 July 2016

    What a disturbing, character driven and beautifully written story. The characters were believable and the story was truly enthralling.I read it and then I bought the audio version which was also so brilliantly read.My new favourite author!!

  • By BOOK ADDICT on 20 March 2017

    I started this novel with such high hopes. The premise of the story seemed sound, the scenario seemed possible, but the further I read the more disappointed I became. The writers style confused me. I did not know whether I was reading the present or past, were these thoughts of Esme/Alison or actual conversation pieces, had to look close for quotation marks. I am not sure I even found the ending possible or understandable. As I say it was a big disappointment ,as the idea seemed so good. The book also took me a long time to read for some unexplainable reason, and I had to keep referring back to the characters that had died and their families, and what quite the connection with the overall story.At first I thought it was going to gain a top rating, but as I progressed this rating gradually diminished.

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Other Ebook

    Miscellanea